Institutional Framework

Institutional Framework


UNFCCC focal point

A Climate Change Unit (CCU) was established in 1996 in Egyptian Environmental Affairs Agency (EEAA), which upgraded in 2009 to a Central Department and includes three general departments (Mitigation, Adaptation and Technology Transfer)

Mr. Hisham Eissa Elsayed is the UNFCCC Focal Point of Egypt.


The Designated National Authority (DNA)

 Egypt ratified Kyoto protocol in January 2005, followed by the establishment of the Egyptian Designated National Authority for Clean Development Mechanism (DNA). The Egyptian DNA is composed of a dual-structured unit, Egyptian Council for CDM (EC-CDM) and Egyptian Bureau for CDM (EB-CDM)